Product Comparison

You have of all 8 possible products to compare.


Compare now

Home visit: how to design a happy home

In this industrial-style home, a family has learned how to make the space grow with them – not just in size, but emotionally too. Step inside and discover the ideas that make this feel-good space.
 
Katty and Marky show how to get the most out of a minimalist, open-plan, family space.
Two children sit at a light wooden table with breakfast and toys, in front of a red brick wall.

Stay open

When Katty and Marky bought their house it was made up of small rooms. “The kitchen was a tiny box of a room, it made you feel separate,” says Katty. Then sons Lucas (4) and Milo (2) came along. “A kitchen extension created a sense of openness.” Placing a table and bench off the end of the island unit gave the family a breakfast bar that doubles as craft station and home office.
 

“The kitchen is our family room, it’s where we live. It isn’t perfect, but we’re not precious because it’s a room we want to be hardwearing – a survival room!”

Marky

A dining area with table and chairs, plants and a bike hanging on the wall.

Make family time special

Dining rooms may not be on trend but Katty and Marky have made a point of having a separate dining space. “I had a romantic idea of eating in here with the kids and that’s what we do once a week – we call it a Foxy Dinner Party. The boys set the table, we stick on a record and it’s just nice family time. Lucas is at the age where he’s starting to create memories; I hope this will be one of them.”
 
Pictures and ornaments displayed on three picture ledges, next to a large plant.

Make it easy to change

“I’ve gone from putting stuff everywhere to grouping it in organised collections,” says Katty of her pared-back approach to creating displays. “I usually keep it nice and clean. Today’s mix is quite eclectic – I wanted to try a mix of magazines and trinkets. Often, I just have magazines or album covers.” Picture ledges are the perfect way to showcase an ever-changing display. No need for nails.
 

“We used to have a lot of stuff, but I’ve become someone who needs order to feel relaxed. The kids were the catalyst. I’ve had to find the line between ‘good sentimental’ and hoarding, so we only have the things we absolutely love!”

Katty
 
Katty arranging ornaments above a fireplace in a living room with dark walls and a brown leather sofa.

Work together

“Our home has grown with us. We’ve had a few decorating disasters along the way,” says Marky. “We’ve learned the value of a moodboard. You pull all your ideas for the room together in one place, and you can both look and see if there’s anything that doesn’t work,” says Katty.
 
Two children standing on a window seat with large cushions and storage underneath.

Create cosy nooks

When space is limited, make it work harder by creating rooms within rooms – spots where you can do your own thing in a shared space. Marky built a window seat for the boys. A bench with baskets underneath would create the same nook. Then use textiles to cosy it up. “I wanted somewhere the boys could cuddle up with a book. They sit there like doggies waiting for Marky to come home after work.”
 
A gallery wall of pictures in different frames above a black metal storage cabinet with wooden top.

Hide and display

Curated minimalism describes Katty and Marky’s approach. “We don’t want pictures on every wall so we made a gallery in the hallway, which grows organically.” Hiding the stuff of everyday life gives the art wall a chance to shine. “The hall is a high-traffic space, you want things to be organised and easy for the kids. The TV cabinet we use is great to store shoes – we each have our own box.”
 
A living room with wooden wall, large plant and brown leather sofa.

Don’t save it ‘for best’

“We waited a long time to get the living room right. As we sorted out the rest of the house, this room was the one we hid behind closed doors. We finally tackled it last year when I signed up for a four-week Instagram challenge. It was the first time Marky and I worked on a room together properly, that’s why I really love it. I call this our ‘turn off room’, where we switch off and relax.”
 

“None of our rooms are ‘good rooms’ – there are no restrictions on the boys. I don’t want to be precious about anything. This is a home to live in.”

Katty
A bedroom with patterned wallpaper, bedding in shades of blue and a gold mirror reflecting a clothes rail.
A portrait of Katty’s family.

“Family-centred, fun and creative – that’s our home! We step inside, take a breath and know we can be ourselves. Our home is security and comfort that transcends how it looks.”

Katty
A floorplan of Katty’s home in a renovated Victorian house

Journey to a family home

“A regular red-brick terrace,” is how Katty and Marky describe their 100-year-old house. The home has grown with them – two bedrooms became three, and the small kitchen grew into a family-sized kitchen/living space with the addition of a double-height extension three years ago. “When we moved in, this place was falling to pieces. To get to this stage has been quite a journey,” says Marky.
 
We love to see our customers get creative with our products. Go for it! But please note that altering or modifying IKEA products so they can no longer be re-sold or used for their original purpose, means the IKEA commercial guarantees and your right to return the products will be lost.
 

Made by

Interior designer: Katie Phillips
Photographer: Benjamin Edwards
Follow Katty @denoffoxes

產品比較

你已選 件產品。最多可選8件。


立即比較

家居巡禮:如何設計快樂的家

住在這個工業風家居的家庭,懂得如何令空間伴隨他們成長(不只空間大小,還有情感)。一起參觀,發掘令空間變得寫意溫馨的好主意。
Katty和Marky示範如何善用簡約開放式家居的每吋空間。
在紅色磚牆前,兩名孩子坐在淺色木檯旁,檯上放有早餐和玩具。

保持開放

當Katty和Marky買下房子時,這裡有多個小房間。Katty說:「廚房很小,令人覺得很孤單。」後來,他們的兒子Lucas (4歲)和Milo (2歲)相繼出生。「擴大廚房後,令空間感覺更開揚。」在廚房島形工作檯的一端加上餐檯和長几,成為一家人的早餐吧,也兼作手工區和家居辦公室。
 

「廚房是我們的家庭室,是生活的地方。它並不完美,但我們不追求完美,只追求耐用!」

Marky

飯廳放有餐檯和餐椅、植物和掛在牆上的單車。

天倫時光更特別

現代家居可能並不流行設有飯廳,但Katty和Marky堅持要有獨立的用餐空間。「我有一個浪漫的想法,就是與孩子一起在這裡吃飯,而我們每星期也有一天會這樣做,我們稱之為小狐狸晚餐派對。孩子會布置餐檯,我們會播放音樂,大家共享相聚的時光。Lucas到了開始記得特別經歷的年紀,我希望這些能成為他的童年回憶之一。」
 
擺設放在三個層架上的相片和擺設,旁邊有一棵大植物。

方便轉換布置

Katty談及她的簡約布置方法時表示:「我不再隨處亂放東西,而是整齊地分門別類。我通常會保持一切美觀簡潔。今天的擺設比較另類,我嘗試混合不同的雜誌和小飾物,通常我會混合雜誌和唱片封套。」層架是展示不同擺設的最佳方法,而且可時常更換,又不用鑽牆。
 

「我們以前有很多雜物,但我現在要在整齊的環境中才能放鬆,背後的原因是我們的孩子。我要在珍藏與囤積之間找到平衡點,只留下真正喜歡的物品!」

Katty
 
客廳配以深色牆壁和啡色皮梳化,Katty在整理壁爐上方的擺設。

齊心合力

Marky說:「家與我們共同成長,一路走來,我們曾經歷過幾次布置災難。」Katty說:「我們認識到情緒板的重要性。將所有布置房間的主意放在一起,便可以全面審視效果。」
 
兩名孩子站在窗前的座椅上,上面放有大咕𠱸,下方設有貯物。

打造寫意角落

如果空間有限,不妨在共用空間內劃出不同區域,讓全家人也有各自的活動空間。Marky為孩子打造了一個靠窗座位,只需要一張長几,下方放幾個貯物籃,再加上布藝產品,便令感覺更加愜意。「我希望孩子有看書的地方。他們像小狗一樣在這裡坐著,等待Marky下班回家。」
 
木頂黑色金屬貯物櫃上方的照片牆掛了不同畫框。

藏起雜亂,展示所愛

Katty和Marky的布置以簡潔為原則。「我們不想每幅牆也掛滿照片,所以在玄關打造照片牆,而且會隨意增加。」將日常雜物收起,令藝術牆成為焦點。「玄關是全屋最繁忙的空間,物品當然要整整齊齊,而且方便孩子使用。電視櫃是收納鞋子的好幫手,我們各有專用的貯物箱。」
 
木牆壁客廳放有大植物和啡色皮梳化。

及時行樂

「我們花了很長時間才打造出理想的客廳。當我們處理其他房間時,我們一直將這間房藏在門後。去年,我報名參加為期四周的Instagram挑戰,終於著手處理這個空間。那是我和Marky第一次一起正式布置一間房,所以我非常喜歡這裡。我將這裡稱為我們的休息室,我們會在這裡盡情放鬆休息。」
 

「沒有一間房是完美的,孩子沒有任何限制。我不想要時刻小心翼翼,因為這裡是我們生活的家。」

Katty
睡房鋪上圖案牆紙,採用藍色寢具,有一塊倒映掛衣桿的金色鏡子。
Katty一家人的合照。

「以家庭為中心、好玩、有創意,這就是我們的家!走進屋內,深呼吸,然後做回自己。家的布置不重要,因為安全舒適最重要。」

Katty
Katty的家居平面圖,那是經翻新的維多利亞時期住宅。

打造家的旅程

Katty和Marky形容這座擁有百年歷史的住宅時指那是「普通的紅磚平房」。這個家與他們一同成長:睡房由二變三,三年前他們加建特高樓底的部分,將小廚房變成適合一家大小共用的下廚/生活空間。Marky說:「這裡原本破舊不堪,我們經歷了很多,才將它變成今日的模樣。」
 
我們樂見顧客發揮創意,將產品物盡其用。我們非常鼓勵大家這樣做,但緊記產品一經改裝或改動,便無法重售或用作原來用途,因此宜家家居的購物保證及你的退貨權利亦會失效。
 

製作

室內設計: Katie Phillips
攝影: Benjamin Edwards
關注 Katty @denoffoxes