Product Comparison

You have of all 8 possible products to compare.


Compare now

The IKEA Concept

Doing it a different way

We constantly ask: Is there a better way?
That’s how the IKEA home furnishings offer
remains unique and how we try to make
everyday life better for the many people.

The idea

The IKEA Concept starts with the idea of providing a range of home furnishing products that are affordable to the many people, not just the few. It is achieved by combining function, quality, design and value - always with sustainability in mind. The IKEA Concept exists in every part of our company, from design, sourcing, packing and distributing through to our business model. Our aim is to help more people live a better life at home.

Bringing the IKEA Concept to life
The IKEA Concept comes to life in many ways: Through our worldwide stores, in the IKEA catalogue, via the web and apps, and most importantly in millions of homes around the world.

Our heritage

Today, IKEA reaches millions of hearts and homes all over the world, but every success story has to start somewhere. Did you know that IKEA once was as a tiny business in Älmhult, a small Swedish village in the countryside, selling through a mail-order catalogue? And that the IKEA headquarters for design are still located there? Here’s our story.

Our roots

Ingvar Kamprad founded IKEA in 1943 at the age of 17, selling household goods like pens, wallets and picture frames. Småland, the landscape where Ingvar grew up, was stony and rugged. Back then, many of the inhabitants had to get by with small means, making as much as possible with next to nothing. Because of this, Smålanders are said to be thrifty and innovative, with a “no-nonsense” approach to everyday problem solving. This heritage is one explanation to the IKEA way of doing things and to our success.
The development of the IKEA logo over the years:
Did you know?
IKEA is named after the initials of founder Ingvar Kamprad, Elmtaryd, the farm on which he grew up, and Agunnaryd, the nearby village.

The IKEA catalogue

Because Älmhult, the town where IKEA was founded, is in a rather remote area of Sweden, it was difficult to reach potential customers in the bigger cities. Due to this, the IKEA catalogue was born in 1951, and Ingvar had already decided IKEA should sell good furniture at low prices:

“Why are beautiful products only made for a few buyers? It must be possible to offer good design and function at low prices.” – Ingvar Kamprad
The prices in the first IKEA catalogue were so low that people were initially sceptical about the quality of the products, so Ingvar decided to convert an old workshop in Älmhult into a showroom where people could look at and try products before ordering.
How the flat-pack idea was born
Mail order distribution of bulky furniture was difficult and expensive, and products often got damaged. In 1956 we got the idea to take the legs off the LÖVET table, which led to the idea of self-assembly and flat packing. Today LÖVET is back at IKEA, now named LÖVBACKEN. A little table that contributed to a great idea.

>> See LÖVBACKEN table
We love challenges!
Throughout our history, our best ideas have come from our biggest challenges, and we believe this is what makes us different. Today, IKEA is one of the most well-known home furnishing brands in the world and, if we include the many thousands employed by our suppliers, around one million people is working with us to make our vision to create a better everyday life for the many people become reality. And this is just the beginning. Like Ingvar Kamprad used to say, “Most things still remain to be done. A glorious future!”

Nurturing the IKEA Concept

In the early 1980s - with IKEA stores in 20 countries and expanding - IKEA founder, Ingvar Kamprad, realised he needed to protect the unique IKEA Concept as part of the company’s growth. He wanted total independence and a long-term ownership structure, so the stock market wasn’t an option. Plus, he believed that all the companies operating under the IKEA Brand had to build resources before they could expand. So, the IKEA franchise system was established. Today all IKEA stores (except the IKEA Delft store in the Netherlands, which is owned by Inter IKEA Systems B.V.) operate under franchise agreements. Inter IKEA Systems B.V. is the owner of the IKEA Concept and worldwide IKEA franchisor.

YOU MIGHT ALSO BE INTERESTED IN:
ABOUT IKEA
Welcome inside our company
We are a values-driven company with a passion for life at home. Every product we create is our idea for making home a better place.

>> Find out more about our vision and company structure
PEOPLE & PLANET
For a sustainable future Discover what sustainability means to us and what we are doing to take care of people and the planet.

>> Explore People & Planet

產品比較

你已儲蓄 件產品.你最多可以儲蓄8件產品


立即比較

IKEA理念

不斷創新

理念

IKEA理念建基於一個簡單的想法:提供大眾能負擔的各式家品。為此,我們不斷研發集功能、品質、設計與低價於一身的產品,並恪守可持續發展的原則。由設計、採購、包裝、運送以至營運模式,每一步也體現IKEA理念。我們的宗旨是為更多人締造美好的家居生活。

實踐理念
我們透過多個途徑實踐IKEA理念,包括世界各地的分店、IKEA產品目錄、網站和應用程式,而最重要的是全球數以百萬計的家庭。

品牌歷史

時至今日,IKEA已走進全球數百萬家庭及顧客的心。每個成功的故事也有誕生之地,而IKEA起初只是瑞典小村落阿姆胡特的小企業,透過郵寄產品目錄銷售產品,現時的IKEA設計總部仍位於該處。以下是我們的故事。

品牌根源

17歲的英格瓦‧坎普拉(Ingvar Kamprad)於1943年創立IKEA,主要售賣筆、錢包及相框等家品。他成長的地方斯莫蘭地勢嶙峋陡峭,當時不少居民要以各種方法維生,善用稀少的資源。因此,斯莫蘭人被公認為最創新、最節儉的人,他們堅守務實的原則,解決各種日常問題。這種傳統也影響了IKEA的處事方式,也是我們成功的基礎。
IKEA標誌的演變:
你知道嗎﹖
IKEA 一字由創辦人英格瓦‧坎普拉(Ingvar Kamprad)的姓名簡寫(IK),以及他出生的農莊埃姆特瑞(Elmtaryd)和附近村莊阿干那瑞(Agunnaryd)的第一個字母組成。

IKEA產品目錄

IKEA於瑞典阿姆胡特創立,由於地區偏遠,令大城市的潛在顧客難以接觸品牌。於是,IKEA於1951年推出首本產品目錄,英格瓦亦銳意提供低價的優質傢具:

「為甚麼優質的產品只是少數顧客的專利?我們必定能提供設計出色、功能實用、價格相宜的產品。」
—英格瓦‧坎普拉
IKEA首本產品目錄內的產品售價低廉,令人不禁懷疑產品的品質,因此英格瓦決定將阿姆胡特一座舊工場改建成陳列室,讓顧客在訂購產品前親身試用。
平盒包裝的誕生過程
郵購大型傢具並不容易,不但費用高昂,產品更經常在途中損毀。於1956年,我們忽發奇想,拆下LÖVET角几的腳,自行組裝及平盒包裝的概念於是應運而生。 如今LÖVET再度回歸IKEA,並易名為LÖVBACKEN。這張小小的角几,成就了出色的意念。

>> 查看LÖVBACKEN角几
我們熱愛考驗!
多年來,我們最出色的構思皆來自最嚴峻的考驗,我們相信正是這一點令IKEA與眾不同。時至今天,IKEA已成為世上最廣為人知的家品品牌之一,若計及供應商數以千計的僱員,全球約有100萬人與我們攜手實踐目標,致力為大眾締造更美好的生活。但這一切只是第一步,正如英格瓦‧坎普拉(Ingvar Kamprad)所言:「還有很多事情等待著去完成。看!這將會是一個璀璨的未來。」

孕育IKEA理念

於八十年代初,IKEA分店遍佈20個國家,而且不斷擴展。當時創辦人英格瓦‧坎普拉明白為了讓公司茁壯成長,必須捍衛獨一無二的IKEA概念。他希望公司能保持獨立自主,採用長期的擁有權架構,因此並無計劃上市。此外,他認為採用IKEA品牌經營的所有公司必須具備所需的資源,才能擴充業務。 因此,IKEA設立了特許經營制度。現時所有IKEA分店(IKEA荷蘭台夫特店除外,該店由Inter IKEA Systems B.V.擁有)均以特許經營方式經營。Inter IKEA Systems B.V.是IKEA概念及全球IKEA特許經營商的擁有人。