Product Comparison

You have of all 8 possible products to compare.

Product Comparison

You have of all 8 possible products to compare.


Compare now

Home 8| Parallel universe: a small, budget-friendly apartment designed to be shared

“Practical pop! Lots of storage, lots of fun colour and always – always – on a budget. Our hallway is very much a what-you-see-is-what-you-get welcome into our home. There are hooks, rails and cabinets for all the things we need on the fly and even a note board for some little messages. Sure, we have phones, but we like a bit of analogue cuteness too.”

How would you describe your style?

“Practical pop! Lots of storage, lots of fun colour and always – always – on a budget. Our hallway is very much a what-you-see-is-what-you-get welcome into our home. There are hooks, rails and cabinets for all the things we need on the fly and even a note board for some little messages. Sure, we have phones, but we like a bit of analogue cuteness too.”

Adult siblings sharing a one-bedroom apartment. It can be done! Watch and see how they make it work beautifully, enjoying time together and time apart, thanks to the versatility of each space.

So, a 1-bedroom apartment shared by adult siblings. How’s that going?

“Growing up, we had our fair share of bunk beds. Not this time! When my brother moved in with me, we agreed that I would hold onto my bedroom and we would make a space for him to sleep and store his stuff in the living area. We’ve made the space as flexible as possible – still great for socialising but also private enough for him to feel totally at home.”

We love a bit of DIY, so we made these cabinets our own by embroidering bright, geometric patterns onto their mesh doors.”

Where did you find all the extra pieces you needed?

“I already had an upholstered bed that I use as a sofa, but we were lucky enough to find another at the As Is section at IKEA for a fraction of the original price. In fact, many of our pieces were found there and we were even able to sell some of our older pieces back using the IKEA Buy Back program.”


Has sharing come with any surprising advantages?

“We know each other too well for any big surprises! But when my brother needed a place to stay, I didn't give it a second thought. Of course, it helps to have someone to split the rent with, and we use less energy and water by living together, but in all honesty, it's his culinary wizardry that really sold me on the plan. Our ENHET kitchen offers him all the space he needs to cook up a storm. A huge advantage? The ENHET kitchen series is easy to disassemble – perfect for wherever life takes us next.”


Which part of the home gets the most action?

“Before my brother moved in, I would have said my living room, but you know how it goes: more food, more friends, more dinner parties! Rather than replacing my dining table with a bigger one, we sold my brother’s through the IKEA Buy Back program and bought a smaller one from the same range from As Is. We just pushed the two together – and look! A lovely, long, customisable dining table: within our budget and lightweight enough to pick up and move for spontaneous dance parties.”


Better for the purse, better for the planet

Rather than going the single-use plastic route, have a peek at some more sustainable kitchen finds that you can use over and over again without breaking the bank.


Want some planet and wallet-friendly furnishing tips?

Interior designer Chiara Effroi Lutteri has some knowledge to share when it comes to creating a more sustainable home, dispelling the myth that living more consciously needs to be costly.

You’re both working from home. How does that work?

“When you’re living in a small space, you have to use every bit of available space. Some people aim for a corner office – we've made do with a corridor! We have very different ways of working – my brother preferring things neat and minimal, whereas I flourish when surrounded by colour and inspiration – so storage has helped keep the peace and our spaces as separated as possible.”


Keep it light and breezy

If you're making a flexible space, have a look for furniture that's easy to pick up, stack or wheel to the other end of the room.


Is there anything you miss about living alone?

“Truth be told, not really. I thought I’d find it tricky having someone around all the time, but my bedroom has really become my selfish, solo spot in the home: filled with my favourite things and space to hang out privately with my pals.”
 

Without his own bedroom, how does your brother get some alone time?

“Our courtyard has become my brother's retreat. After a busy workday, he can often be found out there watering (and chatting) to his plants. Green thumbs certainly aren’t hereditary, but what I lack in skill, I make up in enthusiasm for the delicious meals he makes with so many of his home-grown veggies and herbs.”


It sounds like it’s been a smooth transition. Any serious adjustments?

“Hard pressed, I’d say sharing a bathroom again had to be the biggest adjustment. With not much room for storage, we had to be smart. By dotting hooks along the walls, we solved the need for bigger storage pieces. They work in a super versatile way. Need to hang up a towel? There's a hook for that! They work for makeup and toiletry bags – even as space to temporarily hang a mop or place a removable drying rack.”


Step into another home




X

產品比較

你已儲存 件產品,你最多可以儲存8件產品

產品比較

你已儲存 件產品,你最多可以儲存8件產品


立即比較

自出生起便非常親近的一對兄妹在幾個月前開始同住,非常享受共享一房一廳公寓的生活。由於兩人都想享受最優質的生活,而並非追求物質,於是在家中同時打造私人和共享的空間,全面配合派對、聚餐和安靜獨處時間的需要。

你們會如何形容自己的風格?

「實用搶眼!大量儲物空間,許多有趣的顏色,而且必須符合預算。玄關布置可謂一目了然,利用掛鈎、掛桿和儲物櫃存放所需用品,也有寫上信息的告示板。我們當然有電話,但也喜歡原始而親自的溝通方式。」

成人兄妹共享一房公寓,絕對可行!看看他們如何打造靈活實用的空間,享受相聚和獨處的時光。

兄妹二人共享一房公寓,效果如何?

「我們小時候一直睡碌架床,但這次不用!當哥哥搬來與我同住時,同意讓我繼續擁有自己的睡房,然後在客廳劃出他的休息和儲物空間。我們盡量令家居布置變得更靈活,既適合社交聚會,但又兼顧私隱,讓他感到自在。」

「我們都喜歡動手創作,所以在網狀櫃門上織上明亮繽紛的幾何圖案,打造專屬儲物櫃。」

你從哪裡找到所需的額外傢具?

「我本來已有一張用作梳化的軟墊床,但我們幸運地在IKEA的特價區找到另一張床,而且有極可觀的折扣。事實上,許多傢具都在那裡選擇,讓這些家具在我們家展開新生活。」


同住有甚麼意想不到的好處?

「我們太了解對方,不會有太大驚喜。但當哥哥需要尋找居所時,我馬上答應讓他搬進來。有人分擔租金當然好,而且同住也可以減少用電和用水,但老實說,他高超的廚藝才是我同意的主因。我們的ENHET廚房讓他能盡情發揮。最大的優點?ENHET廚房系列容易拆卸,適合經常搬家的我們。」


家中哪個地方最繁忙?

「在哥哥搬來前,我會說是客廳,但現在有更多美食、更多朋友和更多晚餐聚會!我們沒有換一張更大的餐檯,而是賣掉哥哥的餐檯,從特價區購買更細小的同系列餐檯。我們合併兩張餐檯後,就擁有靈活的長檯,符合預算之餘,又能輕易移動,隨時開派對也可以。」


慳錢又環保

與其使用即棄塑膠製品,不如看看其他更環保的廚房用具,可以重用又無需破費。


想要環保又便宜的家居布置貼士?

室內設計師Chiara Effroi Lutteri 分享關於打造環保家居的心得,打破綠色生活成本更高的迷思。

你們都要在家工作,如何配合?

「當生活空間細小,就要善用每個角落。有人想要角位辦公室,我們則善用走廊!我們的工作方式截然不同,哥哥喜歡整齊簡約,而我需要被色彩和靈感包圍。因此儲物傢具有助保持一齊井井有條,並將各自的空間分開。」


清新簡約風

想要打造靈活空間,來看看能夠輕易移動、疊起或推到不同角落的傢具。


你懷念獨居生活嗎?

「坦白說,真的沒有。我以為會很難接受家裡經常有人,但睡房成為我專屬的私人空間,放滿我喜歡的物品,也有地方與朋友相聚。」
 

哥哥沒有睡房,如何獲得私人空間?

"「後院已經成為哥哥的休息區,在忙碌一天後,他經常在後院替植物澆水(和聊天)。園藝天份當然不是遺傳,雖然我不擅長園藝,但很欣賞他用自家種植的蔬菜和香草炮製的美食。」 "
 


同住的過程似乎很順利,有甚麼需要遷就的地方嗎?

「如果真的要挑剔,我會說最需要遷就的一點是共用浴室。由於儲物空間不多,我們要多花心思,在牆上加裝掛鈎,以代替更大型的儲物傢具。掛鈎非常有用,可以掛起毛巾、化妝袋及盥洗包,甚至暫時掛起地拖或活動晾衣架。」


參觀另一個家居




X